Pun intended in the title. This is a tie-in to my previous blog post about the Church of England (perhaps) banning gluten-free bread and alcohol-free wine from its communion services.
Why does the Church of England take a more rigid stance on the material composition of the communion elements than on...well, anything else, really? The most funny comments in the commentary section assert that the Church authorities don´t have any power since "everyone knows that each congregation does what it likes anyway"! Those who can´t take *any* gluten in their communion wafers can presumably find an Anglican priest with some ease who is willing to accomodate them. Rather than get an allergic shock not anticipated by some 16th century divines.
Or as another commenter says: Why can´t Christ be present in gluten-free bread and non-alcoholic wine?
Well, exactly.
More communion problematique...
ReplyDeletehttps://ashtarbookblog.blogspot.com/2024/07/the-one-ring-pardon-spoon.html
https://ashtarbookblog.blogspot.com/2019/08/a-cup-of-mead.html
The last (long) paragraph in the "Cup of Mead" blog post.
ReplyDeleteVi är en seriös kristen statskyrka. Kolla bara kolla hur strikta vi är med nattvards ingredienserna. Tänk då hur strikta vi är med allt annat som angår kristna.
ReplyDeleteEller inte.
Hade mer väntat mig det här från katoliker. Tänker mig en skoningslös konflikt mellan ett par sedesvakantistiska samfund.
ReplyDeletePrecis. "Det måste finnas minst en liten molekyl av gluten i brödet", "Nej, det måste vara minst två molekyler", "Det ska vara lika lite alkohol som lättöl", "Nej, det måste vara som mellanöl".
ReplyDelete